Books yet unread

This is the list of the books I currently own but haven’t read yet:

  1. Fairy Tales, Brothers Grimm
  2. The Litigators, John Grisham
  3. Inheritance, Christopher Paolini
  4. Complete Sherlock Holmes, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (1/9 read on December 2nd, 2012)
  5. The Girl Who Played With Fire, Stieg Larsson
  6. Frankenstein, Mary Shelley
  7. Everything Is Illuminated, Jonathan Safran Foer
  8. Inkspell, Cornelia Funke
  9. Incarceron, Catherine Fisher
  10. The Power of Six, Pittacus Lore
  11. Tell No One, Harlan Coben
  12. The Vampire Diaries, books III and IV, L.J. Smith
  13. Jane Eyre, Charlotte Brontë
  14. The Serial Killers Club, Jeff Povey
  15. Kafka at the Shore, Haruki Murakami
  16. Mansfield Park, Jane Austen
  17. Theodore Boone: The Abduction, John Grisham (given on December 17th, 2012)
  18. Great Expectations, Charles Dickens (given on December 24th, 2012)
  19. What Maisie Knew (reading in Portuguese: Pelos Olhos de Maisie), Henry James (given on December 24th, 2012)
  20. Paper Towns, John Green (given on December 30th, 2012)
  21. Van Gogh, Steven Naifeh and Gregory White Smith (given on March 5th, 2013)
  22. The Duke and I, Julia Quinn (given on March 16th, 2013)
  23. Wonder, R.J. Palacio (given on March 16h, 2013)
  24. A Hopeless Romantic, Harriet Evans (given on April 5th, 2013)
  25. Bad Girls Don’t Die, Katie Alender (given on April 5th, 2013)
  26. Tales and Poems, Edgar Allan Poe (given on April 30th, 2013)
  27. The Double, Fiodor Dostoyevsky (digital)
  28. Ship of Theseus, Doug Dorst (given on November 30th, 2013)
  29. Neverwhere, Neil Gaiman (given on November 30th, 2013)
  30. Abundance,  Peter H. Diamandis, Steven Kotler (given on February 17th, 2014)

In German:

  1. Kein Keks für Kobolde, Cornelia Funke
  2. Fabelheim, Brandon Mull
  3. All Jane Austen books
  4. Der Hund des Baskervilles
  5. Der magische Dieb, Buch 1
  6. Alice im Wunderland (given on December 17th, 2012)
  7. Worte der Liebe, Goethe (given on January 8th, 2013)
13 thoughts on “Books yet unread

  1. “Ein Kater schwarz wie die Nacht” – already love it for the cutie pie name hahaha
    and *all* Jane Austen’s books in German??? Dear lord, girl, this is gonna take forever….. BUT don’t worry, you can do it :)) just focus!

    • I got the Jane Austen books as a birthday present from my sister! It’ll take me (a hell of) a while to read them and I’ll certainly read them in English first, but it’ll be worth it, I think XD

  2. hey there, i friend of mine just sent me this blog saying that many of the titles u wrote here ive been reading in the last months. i must say im impressed! always good to find a good reader. well, everything from Austen, Auster, Brontë and Wild are worth reading. I have in my hands now the litigators, which i’ve been dating on hugendubel for a while now! and great luck reading in german, i can only bear to read in german when is stuff from university.

    • Woah, how wonderful! I’ll be writing reviews pretty soon, so feel welcome to stick around and share your thoughts on the ones you have read already! Have you ever read any other John Grisham books? I like him a lot – his style, his pace, his vocabulary… I can’t wait to read my Austen and Wild books, I have heard so many great things about them.
      And thank you for wishing me luck with German, I’m probably gonna need it haha I’ll start with a book for kids, so hopefully the language won’t be too complicated and I’ll be able to understand it.
      Thanks for your comment!

      • from john grisham i’ve only read the confession till now, which i very much enjoyed (one of the reasons why i dont understand why i have waited so long to read the litigators – if i am not mistaken, it is out for quite a time already). haha german is an ok language to be spoken, but once you get into literature it gets pretty hard. as i said, all i ever read in german is things for university, sometimes not even this, i just ask for my german class mates to translate it for me. but reading helped me a lot with english and spanish, so it will probably work for you too! how have you learned german?

      • I also liked The Confession very much! It’s such a sad, beautiful story. I have also read two other books of his: The Appeal and Theodore Boone. Both were very good!
        I have been learning German for the last four years: three on a Deutschkurs here in Recife, then a month on an internship program in Munich and not with a private teacher. I love studying it! I think it’s a beautiful, difficult but interesting language (:

  3. Esse Complete Sherlock Holmes é um de capa vermelha? Se for, eu tenho em casa, e decidi dividi-lo em livros mesmo, se não vou passar anos até terminar de ler por inteiro! Da lista, já li Frankenstein, quando tava numa cidade do interior que nem livraria tinha, mas tinha uma prateleiro da L&PM Pocket num supermercado (!). Também já li Dorian Gray, achei fantástico, quando vi, tinha páginas e páginas de quotes anotados… E também pretendo ler a obra completa da Jane Austen, mas claro, não em alemão! Boa sorte. ;D

    • A própria edição de capa vermelha! Eu estou atualmente lendo A Study in Scarlet e também pretendo dividir de um por um, senão fica impossível terminar com o mesmo entusiasmo. Você gostou de Frankenstein? Comecei Dorian Gray (devido à dificuldade de carregar o Complete Sherlock Holmes comigo) e fiquei arrepiada já no prólogo, que é brilhante. Sinto que vai virar um dos meus favoritos!

      • Eu tô bem na metade do livro do Sherlock Holmes, pretendo ler o que falta até o fim do ano que vem. Eu gostei sim de Frankenstein, mas não foi ó-que-história-de-terror-assustadora como eu esperava, e olha que eu me assusto muito fácil! Dorian Gray é muito bom mesmo, eu lia e ficava imaginando como seria o Dorian.

  4. There’s a lot of really great books on this list. I hope you enjoy Inheritance! It was my favourite book of the series. 😀 Pretty much all the books on this list are either ones I loved or have waiting to be read on my bookshelf *sigh* if only there were more hours in the day eh?

    • Yes, I’m constantly wondering why the day doesn’t have a couple more hours haha I’m a huge fan of Christopher Paolini and can’t wait to finish the saga 😀 I’ll review them all, so hopefully it’ll be of some use haha

Leave a Reply

