[Additions to my bookshelf] March 15th, 2013

I have recently left my internship and, as a present, the wonderful people who work there gave me a gift card to my favorite bookstore, Livraria Cultura.

As the money was given to me and could be used at a bookstore only, it fits on Rule #2 and I’m allowed to buy books!

Here are the ones I have bought so far (yes, a very generous gift):

1. Anna Karenina, Leo Tolstoy – The links are all to the actual edition I chose. I’m not a big fan on tie-in editions, but in this case I decided to buy the movie cover because a) it was cheap; b) it’s a gorgeous cover and c) tiny-but-gorgeous Aaron Johnson as Vronsky. Judge me if you want!

2. Will Grayson, Will Grayson, John Green and David Levithan – Basically because of John Green. I have not the slightest idea what the book is actually about, but having loved An Abundance of Katherines (review here), Looking For Alaska (review here) and The Fault In Our Stars (review on its way), I trust Mr. Green and anything he touches.

3. Van Gogh, Steven Naifeh and Gregory White Smith – After Anna Karenina, this was the easiest one to choose. The edition I bought is hardcover, (decently, it seems) translated to Portuguese (which is, after all, my mother language), with colored illustrations and about 1,000 pages long. And it was considerably cheap – 80 reais, about 40 dollars, which is the original price. A bit heavy to carry around, so it’ll wait for vacations.

4. The Statistical Probability Of Love At First Sight, Jennifer E. Smith – I had never heard about it, but after seing it at the bookstore decided to search for reviews from people whose tastes were similar to mine. I was happy to find out there was a positive review on The Infinite Curio, one of my favorite literary blogs, so I decided to give it a shot. (Also: CHEAP. It costs 16 reais in Brazil, around 8 dollars, and books, even paperbacks, haven’t been that cheap for a while).

4. Wonder, R. J. Palacio – To be quite honest, this was a shot in the dark. I hope I like it, especially since I bought it on hardcover. But I have been hearing a positive buzz surrounding it, so I guess it must be good.

5. The Duke and I, Julia Quinn – Two friends of mine like this author a lot and told me this was a great place to start. It seems to be the first of a series and, according to one of them, every book focuses on a member of a large family, but gives glimpses on the lives of previous couples (a bit like Meg Cabot’s Boy thrilogy, I guess). It also caught my eye that these are basically Jane Austen meets Sophie Kinsella, which must mean a good read. I had to import it, though, and my copy will only arrive in May!

For now, that is all, but there’s still some money left. I’m open to suggestions both on what else to buy and what to read first!

11 thoughts on “[Additions to my bookshelf] March 15th, 2013

  1. Cannot wait to read all the new reviews!!! Seriously, your former co-workers are absolutely amazing :)) oh, and I’ve just watched a vlogbrothers video (link below) where John talks about this book you bought, “The Statistical Probability Of Love At First Sight”, where he said he was “very blown away by it”! You excelent book-picker, you 😉

    • OMG! John Green liked it that much? I seem to have a good finger for book-picking haha (Also, am I the only one who runs out of breath as John runs out of breath as he says more and more long, runoutofbreathly sentences?)
      And now I’m out of my internship I will have more time to read and review them all! Woohoo 😀

      • (no, you’re not alone. I too hold my breath when he’s saying these bloody long sentences. when I start to think there’s a pause coming, nooooo he just keeps going.. another great talent of mr. green’s)

  2. Não há presente mais legal do que livro/vale-livro. E esse que eles te deram, hein? Recheado! Deu pra comprar essa porção de livro e ainda sobrou! ❤
    Tenho muita vontade de ler Anna Karenina, mas confesso que estou com medo, por causa do tamanho. Aí vai passar no cinema e eu vou ficar frustrada, que nem aconteceu com Os Miseráveis e vai acontecer com The Great Gasbty. #chatiada

    Boa sorte com as novas adições – principalmente as compradas às cegas.

  3. I do hope you will enjoy The Statistical Probability Of Love At First Sight! The author has another book coming soon and I can’t wait to read it.

  4. Aw, I love John Green! Also, The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight is absolutely amazing! Coincidence or not, this one was my last read. I’m almost 100% sure you’ll enjoy it. 🙂 By the way, her next book is called This Is What Happy Looks Like, and sounds really good!

Leave a comment