[Additions to my bookshelf] April 4th, 2013

After much, much thought, I have decided to “be given” (fitting Rule #2) two more books!

1. A Hopeless Romantic, by Harriet Evans – I have never read anything by Harriet Evans, but I’ve been flirting with this for quite a while now. The only thing stopping me from buying it was the fact that it was so expensive here in Brazil – nearly twice the original price and around three times its reduced price on Amazon. Now my dad had to create an Amazon account because I need a book for my graduation paper that was only available there, so I asked him if I could include this one and he said yes! Yay! It’ll take a while for it to arrive, but it looks like perfect chick-lit for the end of a stressful semester. There’s only one in stock at Amazon for the reduced price of six dollars, so I hope this poor little fellow isn’t left there and ends up being purchased by someone who discovers it through this post!

2. Bad Girls Don’t Die, by Katie Alender – I would never have picked this one up simply by its cover, but I saw it described on a post at The Broke and the Bookish and got really curious. After reading a few reviews, this looks like it deserves a nice try: it’s a ghost thriller, but seems to be well-written and paced. I haven’t even bought it yet, but it’s only a matter of getting to the bookstore. I wanted not to get caught on another series, but don’t we all end up doing it in the end? I’m buying this with the gift card I mentioned earlier, so The Rules are still standing!

There is still some money left on the gift card, so I’m open to suggestions on what to buy next…

Leave a Reply

