It’s time for a change

10440808_769438259745150_1296030846277118584_n

 

I’ve changed.

Hell, I’m changing.

These past months have been an endless emotional roller-coaster, leading me to work a lot on learning about myself and finding peace with my demons.

In the process, I have neglected this blog a bit, partially because of having my mind elsewhere, partially because this whole way of reviewing simply wasn’t working for me anymore. I bought a Kindle and gave up trying: I downloaded tons – TONS – of books and now read a lot more than I used to. Since I was downloading them all already, I started buying books compulsively again. Reviews weren’t written because there were just so many to write.

And the thing is: who cares? Isn’t being a book addict the least of my problems? The least of anyone’s problems? It turns out I can finally say that I’m ok with buying too many books. Being a bookaholic is part of who I am. It’s not a situation that needs an intervention; I won’t go bankrupt or anything and I’ve been reading more than ever.

So here’s what we’re gonna do: I’ve changed, so this blog will change. I say to hell with rules. I will buy what I want whenever I want to, read whatever pleases me and review everything in a more concise way, keeping things shorter and easier. With that purpose, I’ll sometimes group book reviews together, as I have tried once or twice already. Easier, simpler, more readable.

And I’ll feel no more guilt. I am no longer a girl in her desperate attempt to buy less and read more. I am a girl in her desperate attempt to read everything she can.

No more rules. May the fun begin.

6 thoughts on “It’s time for a change

  1. I feel like this is an awesome change!
    I think many book bloggers fall into this pit of must-read-must-review-must-blog, and sort of tire or it and forget why they started blogging in the first place. I know I did, more than once; but tossing rules aside and reading for the love of reading without pressure made it better for sure!
    So I am right there with you; get books, read as much as we can and enjoy it all!

  2. I’m so glad you did this. I’m sure it was exhausting to limit yourself on something that you so clearly love. And you are reading SO MUCH MORE now!!!! You are devouring book after book, it’s so amazing – and kind of scary – to watch. There’s a lot of knowledge, new ideas and greater and greater experiences coming your way, I’m sure of it. I’ll be glued to the blog, of course, to read about everything single book you put your tiny little hands on 🙂

Leave a Reply

