[Extra! Extra!] Christmas presents

As pointed on The Rules, I can only obtain new books in very specific occasions, one of those being as presents. It is perfectly acceptable, then, that I take this magical, snow-falling-somewhere-other-than-Brazil-where-it’s-currently-unbearably-hot season, and make the most of it by transforming every single gift I can into books. And my friends and family, knowing me, are always sweet enough to help!

Here are the books I have been given this Christmas:

books 11. Alice im Wunderland, Lewis Carroll (given by Priscilla, who I met in Germany)

2. Great Expectations, Charles Dickens (given by an aunt, with my sister’s help)

3. Pelos Olhos de Maisie (What Maisie Knew), Henry James (also given by my aunt)

books 2

4. Theodore Boone: the abduction, John Grisham (given by my sister, Victória)

5. Looking for AlaskaJohn Green (sort of given by my dad, since he gave me the money)

6. Paper Towns, John Green (also sort of given by my dad)

Here are the books I have given as presents to other people:

books 3

1. 30 Minutos e Pronto (30-Minute Meals), Jamie Oliver (given to my mom, who loves cooking books, but hates spending too much time on the kitchen)

2. Quem Poderia Ser a uma Hora Dessas? (Who Could That Be At This Hour?), Lemony Snicket (given to my sister)

3. Jogos Vorazes (The Hunger Games), Suzanne Collins (given to Priscilla)

And, as a bonus, I got one of my favorite Christmas presents ever from Rebecca: a poster with a marvelous quote by nerd-fighter and awesome-writer John Green about us, nerds:

nerdsblack-lowres

That’s, in my opinion, the best way to close 2012 and give 2013 a big welcome: by being enthusiastic about the miracle of human consciousness.

A late Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year, everyone!

2 thoughts on “[Extra! Extra!] Christmas presents

  1. I’ve watched so many adaptations of Great expectations that it made me very curious to read it one day.. let me know what you think of it, alright?
    and JOHN GREEEN!!!!! ❤ the heart beats faster just to look at one of his books :)) can't wait for your review on them.

    • The fact that there is an adaptation on its way was what made me feel the urge to read it already – Dickens takes a while, but I bet he’ll be worth it (: And yes, I’ll let you know!
      John Green is so perfect ❤ He has such a particular writing style and is such a great storyteller! I'm already halfway through Looking For Alaska, so the review is on its way 😀

Leave a Reply

